Ditties

For some reason, this reminded me of the boot camp cadence/ditty we used to sing while running around Parris Island…

 

Curmudgeonly & Skeptical

 

“Birdie, Birdie with the yellow bill,

sittin’ on my window sill…”

 

First one to complete it in comments wins a Bozo Button.  Or a Popeye Pin…

9 Responses to “Ditties”

  1. hellinahandbasket.net » Blog Archive » Anyone Reading This a Marine? Says:

    […] Curtis used to serve.Β  He has a ditty that has been stuck in his head since Paris Island, and he wants to know if anyone else out there knows it, too. […]

  2. Steve Says:

    Lured him in with a piece of bread, then I crushed his effin head.

  3. Steve Says:

    Parris Island? They make Marines there? Hollywood Marine here. πŸ™‚

  4. steve Says:

    There’s another “Steve” that reads this blog? Who’d a thunk it! Guess I’ll have to change my screen name, ’cause I sure don’t want anyone thinking I’m a Hollywood Marine.

  5. PeterT Says:

    Being a Sailor, and not having to run around singing silly songs, we knew it as.

    Little bird with a yellow bill
    sat upon my window sill
    lured him in with crumbs of bread
    and crushed his muther f***in head.

    Any one remember ‘Napalm sticks to kids’ ? Least PC poem ever!

    • Steve Says:

      Heck yeah!

      Napalm, napalm sticks to kids
      Sticks to women and children, too

      At least that’s how we sang it. I find it hard to believe the Navy would sing that. πŸ™‚

  6. CTone Says:

    YUUUUUT!!!

    I got here a little too late, but I like it!

    I’ve sang a slightly different napalm sticks to kids cadence before, and also a different birdie one: “Birdie, birdie, in the snow/ broken wing, broken toe. . . ” Y’all know the rest.

    Semper Fi!

Leave a Reply

