Happy 1911 Day!

100 years ago on this day, March 29th, 1911; the United States Army officially adopted the John Moses Browning (PBUH) self loading pistol design of 1910, manufactured by Colt’s firearms (with changes and specifications as amended by the Army ordnance board); as the Automatic Pistol, Caliber .45, model of 1911.

via

Tags:

3 Responses to “Happy 1911 Day!”

  1. stevec Says:

    Any opinions on current production 1911’s? Kimber, Springfield’s “new” Range Officer model, others?

  2. curtislowe Says:

    SteveC: e-mail – from my position…on the way.

  3. Joe Says:

    I have the Springfield Arms 1911-A1 and I think it is as good as or better than a Colt national match version. In fact I have been offered full trades which I immediately put the kabosh on. It is easily as accurate as any match grade weapon and I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

    I’m looking at getting my son a Kimber contact as his backup weapon as soon as he gets on with a PD somewhere. Graduated the academy 20 months ago and still hasn’t found a job.

Leave a Reply

