Where Curtis rubs it in…

So, I went to a Marine Corps unit reunion in DC this past weekend and met up with Nunya and SteveC, among many others I was really happy to see again.

First off, don’t ever invite those two guys into your hotel room when they have a half gallon of Evan Williams bourbon in their hands.  Nunya came to my room at 4:00 pm on Thursday and cracked the bottle. He and SteveC (along with about 7 other Jarheads who somehow received texts) left my hotel room at 6:00 am Sunday.

Now I understand how high school parties get out of hand these days with instant communications the way they are (“Hey, we’re at Curtis’ place and his parents aren’t home!!!”).

I think somewhere in there we may have gone to the Marine Corps museum and a dinner or two, and there were for sure three more empty half-gallons in the room…but it’s hazy.

Anyway, to the point of this post.  On Friday night, Nunya, SteveC and I walked to dinner at a really, really good Thai restaurant.  During the many-course dinner of curry-this and spicy-that, I threw a twenty on the table and suggested a bet…

The last man standing…Ummm that is to say, the last man with intestinal fortitude (as Nunya put it), after a night of very spicy Thai food, drinking, and cigars, would win the pot of $60.

Nunya never made it back to his room.  He christened the head at about 2:30 am.

SteveC texted me at 8:20 Saturday morning “I’m out” – reminded me of Kramer in that Seinfeld episode about being “Master of your own domain.”

I took care of business at 8:21 am.

I can at least say this about fellow Jarheads, they pay their bets.

And yes, I rubbed it in then, but I am doing it now too – stand by for incoming…

6 Responses to “Where Curtis rubs it in…”

  1. stevec Says:

    I take it that this is what you meant by “I have a blog and I’m not afraid to use it”? You should put that on a T-shirt. Fair warning, as it were. As for the bet, yeah you won, but no one knew you were going to go all dutch-boy-and-the-dike to do it.

  2. stevec Says:

    Nunya…he rack uh disciprine.

  3. curtislowe Says:

    I was dancing around the room trying to hold it when you texted…

  4. curtislowe Says:

    Oh, and…Winner, Winner, Chicken Dinner!

  5. T.S. Nunya Says:

    I hate you guys. I really, really hate you guys.

  6. A virtual tie! « Curtis Lowe Says:

    […] a free Thai dinner at the next Marine Corps unit […]

Leave a Reply

